Naomi

And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara:*  for the Almighty hath dealt with me bitterly.

*Hebrew:  mara (bitter), naomi (sweet)

Sweet was the light of the sun,
Sweet was the green of the plains,
Sweet were the dews and the rains,
Sweetly the rivers had run.

Lord, at Thy word the great sun
Burnt all the wheat in the plains,
Dried up the dews and the rains,
Struck every stream that had run.

Sorrow I drink and I eat,
Sorrow in all that was dear.
Far is the joy that was near,
Bitter is all that was sweet.

About middlingpoet

From the Gawain poet to Rainer Maria Rilke: I love traditional poetry.
This entry was posted in In Memoriam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

