Psalm 8

O Lord, how lovely is Thy name
In all the earth, in all the heaven:
We cannot speak, nor angels frame
A fairer name than Thou art given.

Out of the mouth of little ones
Such things are said and sung of Thee
As shall destroy the Tempter’s tongue
And put to flight our Enemy.

Thy hands have made Thee hosts on high;
Seraph and star bow down to Thee;
Thine are the worlds: Oh what am I,
That Thou hast come to visit me?

Thou hast commended to my care
Thy very work in earth and sea,
And to Thy creatures everywhere
Hast bid me reign a Lord like Thee.

Angels above me in the height
Thy boundless might and power proclaim;
With them I answer, as is right:
“O Lord, how lovely is Thy name.”

(Meter: LM, specifically to the tune of “Song 34 (Angels’ Song)” by Orlando Gibbons… I’ve primarily heard this tune set to Charles Wesley’s “Forth in Thy Name, O Lord, I Go,” which is a personal favorite.)

About middlingpoet

From the Gawain poet to Rainer Maria Rilke: I love traditional poetry.
This entry was posted in Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

